The Malawi national football team has been seeded to start the 2021 African cup of nations (AFCON) qualifiers in the group stages.

A statement released by Confederation of African Football (CAF), the seeding has been made based on FIFA rankings. The draw for the qualifiers will be held on 18 July at CAF general assembly in Cairo, Egypt.

Malawi will be in pot three with Zimbabwe, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Mozambique, Angola, Togo, Sudan, Tanzania, Central Africa Republic, Madagascar and Guinea Bissau.

This will be the first time for the Flames to start the qualifiers in the group stages after five years. The team last made it to AFCON finals after 25 years in 2010.

Administrator is a network of news websites covering news, lifestyle, sport, business and entertainment for Young Africans across the continent. is specifically targeted at Malawians living and working in Malawi.

Latest posts by Administrator (see all)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here